How many King James were there?

Question: How many King James of England were there?

Answer: During the history of the English and British monarchy there have so far been two King James: James I and James II.

Scotland however has had a total of six King James, the last of whom also became King James I of England.

James I

Born: 1566 – Died: 1625

Reign: 24 July 1567 to 27 March 1625

James I reigned as King of Scotland until 1603, at which time he also became England and Ireland’s first Stuart king.

James II

Born: 1633 – Died: 1701

Reign: 6 February 1685 to 11 December 1688

James II was a Stuart King of England, Ireland and Scotland until 1688 when he was overthrown by William III.