Men’s 200m Final Result London 2012 Olympics – Bolt Wins Gold Again

Gold: Usain Bolt – Jamaica 19.32

Silver: Yohan Blake – Jamaica 19.44

Bronze: Warren Weir – Jamaica 19.84

Having already answered the critics by retaining his Olympic crown in the 100 meters, Usain Bolt went into the 200m finals as the hot favorite. Bolt who won the 200 meters final in Beijing at the 2008 games and set a new world record in the process was considered to have a tougher challenge this time around.

As in the semi finals Bolt got a strong start and had a small lead coming off the bend but although behind, Blake still looked strong and wasn’t about to give up. Indeed at one point in the final around the 130 meters mark Blake appeared to be gaining on Bolt and was perhaps going to take it on the line but Bolt soon responded to maintain his small lead.

Like in the 100 meters his main rival was fellow Team Jamaica sprinter Yohan Blake who by Bolt’s own admittance trains harder than him. In the 200m race endurance and stamina become more important than in the 100 where top speed is main factor. So this could have been the event where all that extra hard work in training from Blake would pay off. It should also be noted that Yohan Blake boasts a personal best in the 200 of an impressive 19.26, just 0.07 seconds off Bolt’s world record 19.19 and Blake in theory should still be improving.

Also if Bolt was still carrying any kind of slight injury or muscle tightness it could have hindered him under the strain of a 200m Olympic final. Whatever the order you’d have been brave to bet against another Jamaican Gold and Silver and perhaps even a Bronze if Warren Weir had a good race. However, as with the 100m final, if Usain Bolt is on form and at his best he will be virtually unbeatable.

The 200m men’s Olympic final took place 20:55 on Thursday the 9th of August 2012. The current men’s 200m world record still stand at 19.19 seconds with the Olympic record set at 19.30 at the Beijing games, both records are held by Usain Bolt.

Here is the complete list of competitors for the 200m final including lane numbers and final times:

2) Christophe Lemaitre – France – 20.19

3) Alex Quinonez – Ecuador – 20.57

4) Yohan Blake – Jamaica – 19.44

5) Churandy Martina – Netherlands – 20.00

6) Wallace Spearmon – USA – 19.90

7) Usain Bolt – Jamaica – 19.32

8) Warren Weir – Jamaica – 19.84

9) Anaso Jobodawana – South Africa – 20.69