What do the Stars on the Australian Flag mean?

What do the six stars on the Australian National flag represent?

The five stars on the right hand side of the flag of Australia represent the Southern Cross constellation.

The Southern Cross, otherwise known as Crux (Latin for Cross) is a prominent constellation which can only be seen at night in the Southern Hemisphere.

If your ever lucky enough to get a good clear view of the Southern Cross, the link will become obvious.

As for the large, seven point star on the left of the Aussie flag, this is known as the Commonwealth Star.

Sometimes referred to as the Federation Star, prior to 1908 it had only six points, representing Australia’s six original states.

It’s now seven points represent the original six states plus all the new and future Australian states or territories.