Who Won BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2012?

Who won the BBC Sports Personality of the Year in 2012?

These SPOTY awards were the biggest in the shows history following the huge success of the London Olympics.

The winner of Sports Personality 2012 was cycling’s Bradley Wiggins. Wiggins won both the Tour de France becoming the first ever Brit to do so plus an Olympic Gold medal during the summer of 2012.

1.5 million votes in total were cast, heptathlete Jessica Ennis took second place in the voting with tennis player Andy Murray finishing third.

Thanks to team GB’s success at the 2012 Games there was no shortage of contender’s for the title. The star studded ceremony was broadcast live on BBC Television from the ExCel Arena in London.

The Team of the Year trophy was unsurprisingly awarded to British Olympic and Paralympic Team GB. Between them they won a total of 185 medals made up of 65 Golds, 60 Silver and 62 Bronze.

Coach of the year went to Team GB cycling coach Dave Brailsford.

The Overseas Sports Personality award went to Jamaican sprinter Usain Bolt.

The lifetime achievement award was given to Sebastian Coe. Coe was honored not only for what he achieved as an athlete but also for the major role he played in London winning their bid to host the Olympic Games and everything that followed.